My name is Sandy and I am an introvert.

During most of my school years, I was painfully quiet. Scared to draw attention, scared that I was too fat (and I was), scared that I was too short(and I was), scared that I was too fair (how could you be too fair in India?)-just plain scared. A lot of people in school probably wouldn’t remember my name-even those whom I will never forget. I was a true introvert.

Somewhere along the way, probably in my early teens, I’d had enough.  Repeating ‘they are as scared of you as you are of them,’ I spoke out. It was as if a dam broke-14 years of pent up dialogue broke out of me. I became the worst kind of introvert- the blabbering kind.

By college and work, I’d had enough practice. I could now ‘hang out’, pretend to think on my feet, even go clubbing. All the time wishing I was back home, cuddled up in bed with a good book and a big tub of popcorn. I was the disguised introvert.

It’s time to accept me for who I am. I am an introvert.

We’re the ones who live in our cubby-holes. We’re the nerds you joked about in school. We’re the ones who struggle to find an apt pause in a meeting only to find that ‘our’ point stolen by our vociferous bosses. We’re the world’s creative force, snuffed out by alpha males for centuries through power, money or force.

But times are-a-changing. With the help of Bill Gates and co, we are slowly and surely taking over. This is our time- the revenge of the introverts!

Intoverts of the world -UNITE! It’s finally time to speak up.

